Jeep won't Start

Discussion in 'How-To Database' started by Silo Toy Box.com, Oct 20, 2009.

1. Silo Toy Box.com

Silo Toy Box.com New Member

Well after spending a few hours driving around town doing some Halloween shopping. My Jeep won't start. It's not the batter because it's a new battery about 6 months old and all the lights still come on when the key is turned to the ACC position (including the headlights). When I try to start it I hear a slight click but the starter does not turn over. I'm thinking this might be either the starter relay or the starter motor. I am not a mechanic and I know people on here would know more than I would. Would I be correct in thinking this?

My other question is. If it is the starter and or the starter relay is this something I could change out my self? If so does anyone have any pictures where I might find the starter relay location and maybe a picture of where the starter motor is loacted at.

Considering my Jeep is sitting in a shopping center parking lot over night I am kind of bummed at the moment and I hope I can get this fixed soon. I'm sad without my baby sitting at the house.

2. Cam

Cam Management up n smoke

Go check the battery connections and the front fuse box connection. Lift the lid and make sure the main lead is tight. Try and jump it at the battery only. It could be that 6 month old battery is toast too, so don't rule that out just cause it's fresh.

3. Silo Toy Box.com

Yeah I'll be checking that tomarrow. It was dark and I didn't have a flashlight with me in the Jeep at the time. I'm gonna try a basic jump with jumper cable tomarrow before I spend the money having it towed. I didn't think of checking the fuse box connections but I will surely.

4. 1bad4dr

1bad4dr Mr. Meany

:stupid:

5. Quick

Quick Mgmt. - I can't help you