PT GT Performance

Discussion in 'GT Cruisers' started by PurplePTGT, Oct 16, 2013.

1. PurplePTGT

PurplePTGT New Member

Forgive me if I 'm doing something wrong but, I'm new to this. I recently picked up an 04 PT GT 5-speed. I am looking to do some cost-effective (cheap?) mods that I can do to eke out a bit more performance. I've heard that there are some fairly easy changes that can be made to the airbox and the exhaust that can make good gains at fairly low cost. All I've done so far are a K&N filter and muffler removal. I'd like to keep the noise level about where it is now, it sounds pretty sweet without being obnoxious. Where is there a good source for performance parts for these cars? I'm considering a stage 1 ECM and whatever else I'd need to do with that. Also looking at an MSD ignition coil and Vision Motorworks 9mm wires just to make sure the fire gets lit. Any suggestions?

2. loxmith

loxmith Recovering Post Whore...

For starters I'd suggest instead of stage 1, you should consider a Diablosports Predator or Intune...for the money it is much more useful investment than a Stage1 computer. You want to get the one for the SRT Neon...as it is compatible with the GT Cruisers. Also DO NOT get the MSD ignition! They have an extremely bad reputation for failing on the Neon SRT platform. And it you are going to be upping the power/boost...the first mod should be a wideband.

3. PurplePTGT

PurplePTGT New Member

Thanks for the feedback. Is there an ignition system you would recommend instead of the MSD? Also, what's a wideband? Thanks.

4. loxmith

In this instance a factory unit is the best way to go...

Google wideband. There are plenty of makes, but what it is, is a gauge that allows you to monitor your air fuel ratio's. The reason it's so important with a boosted car, is you want to make sure, when you are adding power(more boost) you do not want the engine to go lean.

Too lean = :blowup: engine.

5. nevinsrt

nevinsrt Getaway driver for hire